Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Simple Art of Flying

ebook
"Delightfully quirky." —Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family.
Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground...

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He'd like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he's forced to choose between the life he's always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.

Expand title description text
Publisher: Aladdin

Kindle Book

  • Release date: February 12, 2019

OverDrive Read

  • ISBN: 9781534421011
  • Release date: February 12, 2019

EPUB ebook

  • ISBN: 9781534421011
  • File size: 2814 KB
  • Release date: February 12, 2019

Loading
Loading

Formats

Kindle Book
OverDrive Read
EPUB ebook

Languages

English

Levels

Lexile® Measure:680
Text Difficulty:3

"Delightfully quirky." —Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family.
Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground...

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He'd like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he's forced to choose between the life he's always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.

Expand title description text